Six file officially for New Bedford's mayor race

Six residents officially filed to run for Mayor of New Bedford by today's 5 pm deadline. For the first time, the winner will serve four years instead of two.

Four-term incumbent Jon Mitchell, Michael Medeiros, Richard Tyson Moultrie, Jose Perez, and David Pimental filed officially by today's 5 pm deadline. Current at-Large city councilor **Brian Gomes filed officially for mayor and at-Large City Council**. Michael Janson did not file officially for mayor but did turn in papers for at-Large City Council.

At least three candidates were needed for a preliminary election on October 1. Candidates still have until September 3rd to withdraw their nomination, so the preliminary election is likely, but not certain. The top two vote-getters in the preliminary election will move on to the November 5 municipal election.