New Bedford High School inducts 70 into National Honor Society

New Bedford High School inducted 70 students into its chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) at a May 24 evening ceremony in Bronspiegel Auditorium that began with a candlelight procession, a NHS tradition. Attended by family, friends, faculty, administration and city leaders, the ceremony included the recitation of NHS Pledge, presentation of NHS Certificates of Induction and the donning of the NHS academic stole, which will be worn at Commencement Exercises in June.

Addressing the inductees Mayor Jon Mitchell noted that "a great many American leaders and those who have contributed to advancements in every walk of life have been members of the National Honor Society. We're here to honor you for that same commitment to excellence and to congratulate you and your families in striving toward the highest standards of scholarship and service."

Dr. Pia Durkin, Superintendent of New Bedford Public Schools observed to inductees "you had to dig down deep over many months and years and want to achieve this honor. Remember always that you are NBHS Whalers and as such you have a special responsibility in this city to practice leadership by example in all you do — precisely because you are exemplary."

Headmaster Bernadette Coelho called on inductees "to make a difference here at New Bedford High School every day as you walk through our school doors; live the National Honor Society ideal and model it for all 2,000 of our students. Demonstrate to others your enthusiasm for learning, but most importantly, through your words and deeds, foster kindness and respect

toward everyone you meet. This is living the NHS Pledge, which dovetails with New Bedford High School's core values: responsibility, respect, determination, pride and creativity."

2018 Inductees to the New Bedford High School Chapter of the National Honor Society:

Samuele Abi-Younes, Grace Aira Valdriz, Lipi Akter, Tashawn Arabian, Sophia Arribada, Coral, Ayende Rivera, Eunice Basa, Sofia Bibars, Ethan Bousquet, Frederico Braga Canadinha, Mariela, Campos Mendez, Juan Car Aguilar, Jania Carreiro, Bridget Rose Carroll, Pedro Chach Ciprian, Juana Chach Mateo, Adan Chingo Guitierrez, Joshua Correia, David Crespo Medina, Jay-Lynn Dos Santos, Monica Eires, Andrew Eugenio, Sarah Fernandes, Victoria Freitas, Carina Gomes, Andre Gomez, Juana Gomez Cruz, Ana Gonzalez Martinez, Maranda Gray, Lexie Green, Oscar Guitierrez Garcia, Caitlyn Hodges, Janice Leao, Anna Lin, Jose Martinez, Gerson Medrano, Kasciah Mendoza, Grace Mitchell, Neyheymee Mondiere, Kamren Monteiro, Dominga Morente Cux, Christian Najarro Lopez, Zachary O'Brien, Diogo Oliveira Pimental, Jayani Oliver, Andrea Olmos Julian, Caitlyn Ortiz, Tarvn Padilla, Rachel Pereira, Joao Pina Estavao, Mamunur Rahman, Denise Riobo, Frida Rodriguez, Bocanegra, Lauriany Rodriguez Silva, Rosalee Rojas, Tyler Rose, Alexa Sajbin, Kiara Seixas, Michelle Silveira, Joaquim Simoes, Marcel Sousa, Aliana Liz Tavares, Katelyn Tavares, My Tran, Sachina Tsuda, Emily Velasquez Santos, Lauren White, Liang Xu, Marie Zarate, and Meiling Zhao.

About the National Honor Society

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in

the organization since its beginning in 1921.