NBHS Drama Club Presents, 'Into the Woods'

Rehearsal: Caitlyn Baker (Baker's Wife), Tyler Rebello (The Baker), Seth Sweeney (Jack).

The New Bedford High School Drama Club presents "Into the Woods," music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, based on the book by James Lapine, as its spring musical, on Friday, April 29 and Saturday, April 30 at 7:00 p.m. and Sunday, May 1 at 2:00 p.m., at the Bronspiegel Auditorium of New Bedford High School, 230 Hathaway Boulevard.

This program is presented through special arrangement with Music Theater International (MTI), and supported in part by a grant from the New Bedford Cultural Council, supported by the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

A whimsical musical that brings fairytales to life, "Into the Woods" centers around two main characters — 'The Baker' and 'His Wife,' who wish above all else to have a child. A witch promises to grant their wish if they can retrieve oddly specific items for her within three days. While retrieving these seemingly ordinary objects, the Baker and his wife cross paths with Little Red Riding Hood, Jack and his mother (Jack and the Beanstalk), Cinderella, Rapunzel, handsome princes, and many other characters who are also in the woods trying to make their wishes a reality. But once they get their wishes, will they truly be happy? "Into the Woods" is a musical that reminds audiences to be careful what we wish for, as well as to watch what we say as we never know who is listening and learning.

Sarah Cadieux, NBHS Theatre Teacher and Drama Club Co-Director, said she is especially proud of the cast and crew for tackling such a difficult and demanding show. She is also proud that the Drama Club has reached out to involve students from across the district in designing the production.

"The Fine Arts teachers throughout New Bedford have assisted the Drama Club by assigning students in every school with an art project to create leaves for our show," said Ms. Cadieux. "Each leaf is designed by a New Bedford student, and to tie in with the show, each student artist has inscribed each leaf with something that they wish for. It is our goal that as audiences arrive to see the show, they will walk through a forest of student wishes."

Lillianne Condez, Vice President of the Drama Club, said she thinks audiences can learn much from this production if they can look past the parts of the stories they already know.

"I think one of the biggest lessons to learn from Into the Woods is to truly be grateful for what you have," said Lillianne. "The downfall of all our characters is that they do not appreciate what they already have and they are constantly searching and wishing for more."

As always, New Bedford High strives to take a fresh approach with the staging for every production; "Into the Woods" will be no different.

Hannah Novo, Student Technical Assistant, said, "We're taking a different building approach to the building for this show, which is resulting in a more interesting set this year than in the past."

Justyn Bernardo, President of the Drama Club, said hopes the talented student actors can drive audiences to the production and explains. "People should come see our production of 'Into the Woods' to see a real, genuine portrayal of beloved story book characters," said Justyn. "We've worked hard to exist in the world of the show and it's resulting in very heartfelt performances."

Tickets for Into The Woods can be purchased at the box office

beginning 30 minutes before each performance. Adult tickets are \$12, while students and senior tickets are \$10.

"Into the Woods" is presented with special permission from Music Theatre International and is partially supported by the New Bedford Cultural Council, a local agency of the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

The show is co-directed by Sarah G. Cadieux and Aaron Valente and features over 50 students working both on and off the stage. Student performers include: Christian Borges, Zara Lemieux, Kenzi Farland, Tyler Rebello, Caitlyn Baker, Tayber Lima, Seth Sweeney, Carina Borges, Olivia Margues, Lillianne Condez, Ayanna Pediford, Kaitlyn Arruda, Kaylei Perry, Josh Botelho, Jon Furtado, Justyn Bernardo, Kaitlyn Arruda, Mikey Williams, Danielis Hernandez, Sophia Arribada, Megan Lima, Laura Bongiorno, CJ Rodriguez, Brian Rego, Jaalisa Douglas, Chelsea Spitz, Mariah Demoranville, Morgan Miller, Rebecca Tavares, Eva Watts-Pine, Mason Duarte, and Diana Lima. Student Crew Members include: Hannah Novo, Julia Goncalves, McKyle Santos, Isabel Almy, Tyreice Mendes, Thea Racine, Shanyah Cunha, Danielle Guimont, Millenya Rodriguez, Haylei Duarte, Belinda Pestana, Yolanda Joia, Adrionna Greene, Rhyan Ramos, Madison Ashworth, Liani Werner, Araceli Lima, Allison Pereira, Jasmine Garrick, and Kaycee Langlois.