Mattapoisett Cultural Council announces the 2021 Cultural Grant Awards for greater New Bedford

State Representative William M. Straus, Selectman Jordan C. Collyer, and Kathleen Damaskos, Mattapoisett Cultural Council, have announced the award of 20 grants totaling $11,560 for cultural programs in and around Mattapoisett.

The Mattapoisett Cultural Council is part of a network of Local Cultural Councils serving all 351 cities and towns in the Commonwealth, the largest grassroots cultural funding network in the nation, supporting thousands of community-based projects in the arts, sciences and humanities every year.

In 2021, Mattapoisett Cultural Council is once again receiving town financial support to supplement the state allocation and is fortunate to have both state and town funding after a year during which many cultural programs were either canceled or postponed to the disappointment of both arts providers and arts consumers.

Mattapoisett residents are anxious for cultural programs to return this year and artists are anxious to produce great programs.

Decisions about which activities to support are made at the community level by council members Gary Brown, Carole Clifford, Carol Dildine, Michael Eaton, Annemarie Fredericks, Joanna MacDonald Ingram, Barbara Poznysz, Bette-Jean Rocha, Gale Schultz, Sarah Thomas, and Donna Wingate.

“Investment in the arts, especially at the local level, has never been more important, and I am pleased that the legislature was able to provide funding for the current year,” said Rep. Bill Straus (D-Mattapoisett). “The Mattapoisett Cultural Council has done excellent work making sure that artists continue to be supported despite the restrictions we all continue to operate under.”

“The continued investment in our Cultural Council grantees will further benefit the Mattapoisett community and help advance the town’s goals to encourage local resources and activities that engage our residents. We believe that these arts and cultural efforts will further advance our goal of promoting diverse and educational experiences for all.” said Selectman Jordan C. Collyer.

This year’s Mattapoisett Cultural Council grantees include:

• Davis Bates
• Dream Tale Puppets
• Irish Traditional Music Sessions
• Mattapoisett Free Public Library
• Mattapoisett Land Trust Education Committee
• Mattapoisett Museum
• New Bedford Art Museum/Artworks!
• New Bedford Festival Theatre
• New Bedford Fishing Heritage Center
• New Bedford Jazz Fest
• New Bedford Symphony Orchestra
• Seaglass Theater Company
• SEED, Inc.
• Shakespeare in New Bedford
• Sippican Choral Society
• Sippican Land Trust
• South Coast Children’s Chorus
• Tri-County Symphonic Band
• Kirk Whipple & Marilyn Morales, Duo Pianists

The Mattapoisett Cultural Council will seek applications again in the fall. Information and forms will be available online at www.masscultural Applications will be due in mid-October.

Translate »