Historic New Bedford golf course built by “man who brought golf to the world” turns 100 years old

Although it technically was founded in 1902, September 4th marks 100 years that the 18 hole course we see today of the Country Club of New Bedford has been in operation.

In 1902 the Country Club of New Bedford was incorporated. A short ride from the city by horse, the founders envisioned a true country club experience. A “state of the art” clubhouse was constructed and landscape designers from Boston were hired.


Postcard of CCNB from 1909.

By 1915 the new golf course already became overcrowded and members petitioned the Board of Governors to expand the facility to eighteen holes.

In February of 1922, across Slocum Road, an additional 38 acres were secured which allowed the desired expansion project to proceed.

The following month on March 28, 1922, the board proudly announced the official hiring of world renowned golf course architect, Willie Park Jr. This was a huge deal as Willie Park Jr. is the world’s first “golf course architect”, a two time Open Champion, and the first man ever to write a book on how to play the game of golf.


Willie Parker Jr. playing in the Open.

He has been labeled “the man who brought golf to the world”.

Construction of the eighteen hole layout that you can play today was completed on September 4th, 1923. The Country Club of New Bedford’s layout and greens have remained relatively untouched from their original forms for almost one hundred years and represent a wonderful example of a Willie Park Jr. design.


Country Club of New Bedford.


Country Club of New Bedford.