## Absentee, mail-in ballots for City of New Bedford municipal election now available

"The Board of Election Commissioners advises the public that absentee/mail-in ballots for the Municipal Election are now available. Any voter can request to receive a ballot by mail, can vote absentee in the Election office during regular business hours, or can Vote Early in person. The Election Office is located in City Hall, 133 William Street Room 114. Office hours are from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. The last day to register to vote is Friday, October 27th.

## Voters can Vote Early at the following locations prior to the election:

Saturday, October 28 – 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the Main Public Library, 613 Pleasant Street
Wednesday, November 1 – 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at Taber Mill, 217 Deane Street. (Coffin Ave. entrance)
Thursday, November 2 – 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at Hazelwood Senior Center, 553 Brock Avenue

Parents or Family members can apply for an absentee ballot on behalf of their children attending out-of-city or State Colleges and Universities. The deadline to apply for an Absentee/Mail-in ballot by mail is Tuesday, October 31 by 5:00 p.m. or in-person in the Election Office the day before the Election on Monday, November 6 by 12 p.m. All Absentee/Mail-in ballots must be mailed out but can be hand-delivered to the office or returned via the drop-off boxes outside City Hall or on Elm Street outside of the SRTA bus terminal. All Absentee/Mail-in ballots must be returned to the Election Office by 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, November 7th to be accepted. On Election Day, polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

In the Municipal Election, New Bedford voters will be casting their votes for Mayor, Councillor-at-Large, Ward Councillor, School Committee, and Assessor-at-Large.

Any New Bedford resident who is uncertain about their voting status, designated polling location, has changed their address since the last election, or would like to request an absentee ballot should contact the Board of Election Commissioners at (508) 979-1420."