Area restaurants join forces in “Taste of the Port” seafood event, March 29

image_pdfimage_print

Area chefs to create signature seafood dishes for Taste of the Port event

An upcoming event will showcase the talents of area chefs and the bounty of local seafood in an effort to raise funds to support the restoration of the Mariner’s Home and Seamen’s Bethel which will ultimately house a “fisherman’s museum”. “Taste of the Port” takes place from 6-9 p.m. on Saturday, March 29th in the Jacob’s Gallery of the New Bedford Whaling Museum which is a major sponsor of the event. Retired Congressman Barney Frank will be the keynote speaker. Guests will enjoy an open bar and jazz provided by the Peter Arteaga Ensemble. Tickets are limited and may be purchased by calling 508-997-1776. The ticket price is $100 with all proceeds benefiting the project.

A number of area restaurants have generously donated food for the event with chefs to creating signature seafood appetizers featuring local seafood. Participating restaurants/chefs are Greg Morton of Morton’s Fork Catering (New Bedford Waterfront Jambalaya), Mike Melo of M&C Café (Monkfish Basque Style), Chris Bentley of Fathoms (Raw Bar), Chris Chaput of How on Earth (Mussel, Chorizo and Tomato Crepes), Henry Bousquet a culinary arts instructor at New Bedford Voc (Fish Tacos featuring Pollock provided by Bergie’s Seafood), Turks Sushi Bar Restaurant and Seafood Market (Sushi), and Freestones (Fish Chowder). For those who would like to sample the area’s Portuguese cuisine, Tia Maria’s European Café is providing Kale Soup. Guests will also enjoy a chocolate fountain courtesy of Dorothy Cox Chocolates.

Aimed at restoring and preserving two of the city’s most iconic buildings, the New Bedford Port Society, Waterfront Historic Area LeaguE, and Working Waterfront Festival have joined forces to collaborate on the Port Society Complex. The project’s comprehensive scope envisions a complete restoration of the historic 1832 Seamen’s Bethel and the adjacent 1787 Mariners’ Home. Both buildings grace Johnny Cake Hill in the heart of the city’s nationally recognized historic district. When the restoration project is complete, both buildings will be fully handicapped accessible and connected with an enclosed walkway. Plans are to open the Mariners’ Home as a Fishermen’s Museum to tell the story of New Bedford’s development as the number one fishing port in the country.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>